WBGU-TV and Geelong Football Club (VFL)

WBGU-TV is a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) member Public television station in Bowling Green, Ohio operated by the Bowling Green State University. Unlike its companion radio station, WBGU (FM), WBGU-TV is not primarily operated by students at the university. Although, the station does offer many different student positions that allows the students to gain experience.

The station was founded in 1964 and currently operates at the Tucker Center for Telecommunications on the BGSU campus. (While officially part of the BGSU campus, the Tucker Center is actually located two blocks south of Wooster Street, which marks much of the southern boundary of the campus.) Each weekday during the academic term of public schools in the Great Black Swamp region, WBGU-TV broadcasts six hours of educational programming provided (and, in some cases, created) by the Northwest Ohio Educational Technology Foundation. The NWOET is operated at the Tucker Center, but is a non-profit state agency separate from the university.

Contents 1 History 2 Digital TV 3 References 4 External links


On February 10, 1964, WBGU-TV (originally licensed to Lima but operating in Bowling Green) broadcast for the first time, and, unusually for a U.S. television station, would undergo two frequency changes in its first quarter century. The station first operated on channel 70, and moved to channel 57 in 1973; it would move to channel 27 in 1986. WBGU originally wanted to move to channel 27 in the early 1970s, but protests from the nearby WGTE-TV in Toledo, which operated on the adjacent channel 30 at the time and, because of significant territorial overlap, feared confusion between the two channels, prompted state and University officials to settle for the higher channel number.

The station first broadcast from a small studio located in the university's South Hall. After the Moore Musical Arts Center was built in 1979, the university's radio stations and telecommunications department (then the department of radio, television, and film) moved to West Hall, which formerly housed the university's college of music. Sometime after that, WBGU-TV moved to a new building located at 245 Troup Avenue in Bowling Green; the building was renamed the Tucker Center on May 6, 1994.

During the 1970s and early 1980s, WBGU maintained a low-powered repeater in Fort Wayne, Indiana on channel 39 (later to affiliate with Indianapolis' WFYI), which became full-powered WFWA in 1985.

Today, WBGU-TV broadcasts to nineteen counties in northwestern and west central Ohio including the markets of Toledo and Lima; depending on the antenna used, WBGU's signal could be tuned in as far west as Fort Wayne and as far north as southwestern Washtenaw County, Michigan and Windsor, Ontario.

In Toledo, Buckeye Cablesystem carries WBGU-TV on cable channel 57, which is, ironically, the station's previous channel number on the UHF dial. Digital TV

WBGU-TV stopped transmitting both its analog signal on channel 27 and its pre-transition digital signal on channel 56 at midnight on Sunday, December 14, 2008, transmitting only a digital signal on channel 27 since Monday, December 15, 2008.

WBGU began broadcasting digitally in August 2003. The digital signal is multiplexed:

Digital Channels

Geelong Football Club (VFL) and WBGU-TV

This article is about the Geelong Football Club reserve team which participates in the Victorian Football League. For full information and history about the parent club and its AFL team, see Geelong Football Club.

Geelong Football Club VFL team, nicknamed the Cats, is an Australian rules football team that plays in the Victorian Football League. Its parent team, Geelong Football Club, plays in the Australian Football League.

Contents 1 History 2 Honour board 3 External links 4 References


The Geelong Football Club was formed in July 1859 and joined the Victorian Football Association as a founding member in 1877. Geelong left the VFA at the end of the 1896 VFA season to be a part of the breakaway Victorian Football League (which became the Australian Football League in 1990) where it has fielded its senior teams since.

From 1919 to 1991 the VFL/AFL operated a reserves competition from 1992 to 1999 a de facto AFL reserves competition known as the Victorian State Football League. The Geelong Football Club fielded a reserves team in both of these competitions, allowing players who were not selected for the senior team to play for Geelong in the lower grade. During that time, the Geelong Reserves team won thirteen premierships (1923, 1924, 1930, 1937, 1938, 1948, 1960, 1963, 1964, 1975, 1980, 1981, 1982), the most of any club.

At the end of the 1999 season, the VFL merged with the Victorian State Football League (VSFL) to become the present-day Victorian Football League. Geelong chose to field its stand-alone reserves team for the 2000 VFL season and has continued to do so for every VFL season since. From 2003 to 2007 Geelong was the only AFL club to field a stand-alone team in the VFL.

The Geelong reserves team has been relatively successful in its time in the VFL, winning three premierships and finishing as runners-up twice. In 2002, coached by Ronn Watt with Tim McGrath as captain, the Cats defeated Port Melbourne by 22 points in the Grand Final; it was Geelong's first Premiership at any level since 1982. In 2006, Geelong lost the Grand Final against Sandringham by 18 points. In 2007, under coach Leigh Tudor and captain James Byrne, the club won the premiership by defeating Coburg by 74 points. In 2012, Geelong won its third VFL premiership defeating Port Melbourne by 33 points, coached by Matthew Knights and captained by Troy Selwood.

The Geelong VFL team is composed of both reserves players from the club's primary and rookie AFL lists, and a separately maintained list of players eligible only for VFL matches. Honour board

Note: This list and details are incomplete

Premierships: 3 (2002, 2005, 2012) Runners up: 2 (2007, 2013) Minor premierships: 0 Wooden spoons: 1 (2005) J.J. Liston Trophy winners: 2 (Byrne 2007), (Schroder 2013) Frosty Miller Medallists: 0 Fothergill-Round Medallists: 1 (Davenport 2006) External links Official website of the Geelong Football Club Official website of the Geelong Football Club VFL team
83/275 80 81 82 84 85 86 87 s87 resnik