Confederate States presidential election, 1861 and Snorre Bjerck

Presidential Election 1861. Gray shows states won by Davis/Stephens. Numbers are Electoral College votes in each state.

The Confederate States presidential election of 1861 was the first and only presidential election held under the Permanent Constitution of the Confederate States of America. Jefferson Davis, who had been elected President and Alexander H. Stephens, who had been elected Vice President, under the Provisional Confederate States Constitution, were elected to six-year terms (February 22, 1862 – February 22, 1868) as the first permanent President and Vice President of the Confederate States of America.

Contents 1 Background 1.1 Constitutional Provisions 2 General Election 2.1 Campaign 2.2 Results 3 Official sources 4 Campaign memorabilia 5 References


The Confederate Provisional Congress met at Montgomery, Alabama, on February 4, 1861. A provisional constitution was adopted on February 8, 1861.

On February 9, 1861, Jefferson Davis was elected Provisional President and Alexander H. Stephens was elected Provisional Vice President. Both men took office on February 18, 1861.

On March 11, 1861, a permanent Constitution was adopted. Constitutional Provisions

Article II Section 1(1) reads: "The executive power shall be vested in a President of the Confederate States of America. He and the Vice President shall hold their offices for the term of six years; but the President shall not be re-eligible."

Article II Section 1(7) of the Confederate Constitution provides citizenship to people "born in the United States prior to the 20th of December, 1860" and also requires candidates for the President of the Confederacy to have resided "within the limits of the Confederate States" for 14 years.

Article VII Section 1(2) includes instructions for electing permanent officials after the ratification of the Confederate Constitution:

When five states shall have ratified this Constitution, in the manner before specified, the Congress under the Provisional Constitution, shall prescribe the time for holding the election of President and Vice President; and, for the meeting of the Electoral College; and, for counting the votes, and inaugurating the President. General Election Campaign

Davis and Stephens ran without opposition. Results

The election simply confirmed the decision that had been made by the Provisional Confederate Congress earlier in the year. Davis remained president until May 5, 1865, when the Confederate government was officially dissolved.

Source (Popular Vote): CSA President - Popular Vote. Our Campaigns. (August 30, 2012).

Source (Electoral Vote): CSA President. Our Campaigns. (August 30, 2012).

(a) Totals reflect the popular vote in North Carolina only.

(b) Missouri and Kentucky did not participate in this election. Official sources

Journal of the Congress of the Confederate States of America, 1861-1865 , Journal of the House of Representatives of the First Congress of the Confederate States of America, Second Day--Wednesday, February 19, 1862, page 12 and page 13 Campaign memorabilia

Election ballot, Virginia, November 6, 1861

Snorre Bjerck and Confederate States presidential election, 1861

Snorre Bjartmann Bjerck (born 25 February 1962 in Florø, Norway) is a Norwegian, Jazz musician (percussion and vocals). He has played in bands like «First Set», Jon Balke's Batagraf, and the sami band Transjoik., and is otherwise known from recordings and performances with the likes of Morten Harket, Sissel Kyrkjebø, Nils Petter Molvær, Bjørn Eidsvåg, Sigvart Dagsland, Frode Alnæs, Eivind Aarset, Annbjørg Lien, Arve Henriksen, Nils-Olav Johansen, and Tim Whelan (Trans Global Underground, England)

Contents 1 Career 2 Honors 3 Discography (in selection) 3.1 Solo works 3.2 Collaborative works 4 References 5 External links


Bjerck is educated on the Jazz program at Trondheim Musikkonservatorium (1984–86). For people interested in World music this exceptional percussionist is something on stage, in the band Transjoik, Batagraf with Jon Balke, Helge Norbakken, Ingar Zach or in one of his own musical projects. His distinctive style, with treatment of percussion instruments from around the world, distinctive vocals and electronics merging into an elaborated mix. He has also contributed to the «Østnorsk Jazzsenter»'s band «Norske Store Orkester».

He debuted as solo record artist with the album My Place (2006), and you can sense his extensive touring world wide with impulses from both traditional folk music and different environments. He uses unique samples collected during his tours in Europa, Asia and Afrika. These are used as mood elements in the production of a tremendous groove, vocal elements and an intense nerve World creates a totally new format. Bjerck brings along guest musicians the joiker Ingor Ánte Áilo Gaup, and the Swiss bassist Mich Gerber. The production is his own assisted by Transjoik colleague Frode Fjellheim. Honors Vossajazzprisen 2007. Discography (in selection) Solo works 2006: My place (Vuelie) Collaborative works Within Transjoik 1994: "JazzJoik Ensemble: Saajve Dans" (Idut) 1997: "Mahkalahke" (Warner Bros.) 2000: "Meavraa" (Warner Bros.) 2003: "Remix Project EP" (Vuelie) 2004: Uja Nami (Vuelie) 2005: Bewafá (Vuelie) With others 1996: Letters (Turn Left), with Håvard Lund 1997: Ruošša Eanan (Atrium), with Ulla Pirttijärvi 1997: Ruošša Eanan (Turn Left), with Ulla Pirttijärvi 2003: Vind (Heilo), with Hans Fredrik Jacobsen 2008: Áibbaseapmi, with Ulla Pirttijärvi
110/275 107 108 109 111 112 113 114 s114 resnik